More Processed Foods Exposed

So today I made the trek to Whole Foods.  It’s about 20 minutes away from us.  I go there mainly for whole spelt flour which Sprouts does not carry for some reason.  While I was there I decided to take a few more pictures.  I would have liked to get more, but both my kids were getting a bit impatient with me.  All you moms out there can understand I’m sure. 🙂

The first picture I took was of Almond Breeze.  A lot of people seem to drink non dairy milks these days.  Not just vegans.  Reading the labels for milks is very important because a lot of them contain carrageenan.

Here is the label.

As you can see, this one contains carrageenan.  It’s very hard to find one that doesn’t.  That is why I make my own.  To get the recipe, click here.

For soy milk, I buy West Soy unsweetened.  No carrageenan in it.

This next food is one I used to purchase on a weekly basis.  Again, I trusted the box’s claims.  A big mistake because they are only out to make a profit.

This one looks familiar, huh?  It is available everywhere including Target.  I lived on this stuff before I got smart and starting educating myself on processed foods.  Let’s look at the label.

The third ingredient down is brown rice syrup, which is processed sugar.  The next ingredient after that is soy protein concentrate, which is another form of MSG.  If you would like to learn more about MSG click here.  The next ingredient after soy protein is evaporated cane juice crystals.  A fancy word for processed sugar.  Lets looks at the nutrition facts to see how much sugar is in each serving.

So the serving size is 1 cup.  I don’t know a single person who would eat just that tiny amount.  I think I would eat at least 3!  There is 13 grams of sugar per serving.  Those sugar calories go straight to your ass!  Not to mention, you will be starving an hour later.  Granola is a much healthier option that will keep you satiated for far longer.  If you would like a yummy granola recipe, click here.

Did you also know that Kashi is owned by Kellogg?  The same people that punch out those super sugary cereals to kids.  They are also one of the companies that has spent tons of money in hopes to block Prop 37 from passing.  It’s because they really don’t want you to know what is in their food.  Think about it.  If their product is as healthy as they claim, why are they trying to keep you from finding out what they are putting in it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Processed Foods Exposed

  1. You can’t say it enough….read the label on everything! The claims on the front of the package often make us think we’re making a good choice when that’s not the case at all.

    • mgking76 says:

      I know! I hope my words are inspiring others to do the same! Look for more of these posts in the future. There are so many brands I could pick on!

  2. Thank you for taking the trouble to open our eyes to this stuff. What is carrageenan anyway? I clicked on your link but it doesn’t actually say what it is. Or did I skim it too fast? The happy bi-product of avoiding all plastic-wrapped goods and buying mostly unpackaged is that we’re also avoiding processed food. But a year or two ago we were also happily buying what we thought were health foods without reading much beyond the vegan label. Thanks again.

    • mgking76 says:

      Your welcome! It makes me happy to know that I may be inspiring even one person to change their eating. 🙂 Maybe this link will help answer your question. http://blog.healthkismet.com/carrageenan-cancer-health-inflammation

      • Thanks again for doing the hard work for me. I had a look at the link (I confess I haven’t read it all at it’s 1am and I’m tired!) but I read enough to be glad you brought it to my attention – and I’m now doubly excited that I’ve learned how to make oat milk so I don’t have to use tetra paks of soy milk any more – yay! And carrawotsit is clearly being tested on animals frequently which is something vegans don’t want to contribute to anyway. So many reasons to avoid it. Thanks again. I’m going to bed now 🙂

Leave a Reply

