Healthy Vegan Pumpkin Pie

Once again it’s another pumpkin recipe!  I told you that I eat my self sick of it every fall. 🙂  This was my second try for the pumpkin pie.   The first one was an epic fail.  I think the mistake I made was trying to incorporate molasses.  It just turned out bitter. 😦  This pie came out fantastic though and was super easy to make. Like I have said before,  I am all for easy recipes!

Healthy Vegan Pumpkin Pie

For the filling:

1 can pureed pumpkin (not the pie mix)

1 pkg silken soft organic tofu

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1 heaping tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350.  Take all the ingredients and throw them in the food processor.  Blend until you get a smooth result.  Move the mixture to a bowl so you can make the crust.

For the crust:

1 1/2 cups spelt flour

1 banana

1 T vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)

1 T sweetener (I used maple syrup)

2-3 T non dairy milk (I used organic soy)

Throw the banana, flour, butter and sweetener in the processor until well combined.  Then add in milk until a dough forms and it can be gathered into a ball.  Roll out on the counter top and then place into a greased pie pan.

Pour the pumpkin mixture into the pie shell and bake in the oven for about 45-50 min.  When I pulled mine out, it was slightly loose so I put it in the fridge to firm up before serving.

Meadow helped taste test it.  Then, as we were eating it, she decided that she wanted the whole crust.  She scraped the remaining filling off and took off with the crust!  Crazy kid. 🙂

What crazy things do your kids do with food?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

