Step 1. Become Aware of What is in Your Food

Besides large amounts of sugar and sodium, Big Food companies love to add unnecessary additives to their foods.  Think about it.  They produce foods that have a very long shelf life and some are designed to NEVER rot.  That can’t be safe for human consumption. The FDA will try to tell you they are safe, but they admit here that they are not testing enough. The most commonly used additives are:

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)

This is often used as a flavor enhancer in Chinese foods, soups and other processed foods.  MSG, in various studies, has been linked to obesity, asthma and behavioral problems in children.

Artificial Sweeteners (Aspartame and Saccharine)

Don’t think you are safe drinking a diet soda.  They, and many lowfat, fat free and no sugar  products contain these artificial sweeteners.  The FDA will try to tell you they are safe, but many symptoms have been linked to the artificial sweeteners, such as, tumors, diabetes and Parkinson’s Disease.

BHT (Butylated Hydroxytoluene)

This is an anti oxidant that companies add to food to help preserve taste and color.  It is most cereals, bars and also beauty products.  BHT has been linked to cancer, allergies and abdominal problems.

Carrageenan

Carrageenan is found in almost all meat and dairy products. For a list of products that do and do not contain carrageenan please click here. It is used by food companies as a stabilizer and also to thicken.  Even some foods that claim to be healthy contain it.  That surprised me the most.  Recently, it has been linked to cancer, especially colon cancer.

High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS)

When you start reading labels, you will find that HFCS is in almost all processed foods, even foods that you would not add sugar to.  Such as ketchups, dressings, mac and cheese and most processed breads and cereals.  Companies add it because it is a cheap filler.  Cheaper than table sugar actually.  It has been linked to obesity, metabolic syndrome, diabetes and high blood pressure.  If you cut out all processed foods, you find that you will lose weight without even dieting.  My husband and I did.  People just don’t realize the extra amount of sugar that is in processed foods.  If I was going to make mac and cheese from scratch, the recipe would not call for sugar.  It can be made without.

These are just as few things that are put into our processed foods.  Start becoming aware, and you will soon be as disgusted and my family and I were.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Step 1. Become Aware of What is in Your Food

  1. Not So Delciious!! Noooo! Haha I can understand the rest but why does So Delicious have to contain something bad?? 😦 Also, I was wondering what your position is on Stevia? I only consume it when I drink Zevia soda.

    • mgking76 says:

      I don’t think Stevia is bad in moderation. I tried it in baking once and hated it so I don’t use it in my recipes. I know what you mean about So Delicious! I loved it too! Now I just make my own vegan ice cream. 🙂

  2. Darn it! I just bought a case of Almond Breeze from Costco in my quest for healthy eating. So so disappointed :(.

  3. mgking76 says:

    I know! I was disappointed in some products too! I have my own almond milk recipe and its awesome! The crushed vanilla bean makes it taste sweet even when there is no sugar added. 🙂

Leave a Reply

