Pumpkin Spice Granola Healthified

Fall is here and it’s time for pumpkin recipes!  I love pumpkin and eat myself sick of it every fall.  I also try to stock up on canned pumpkin so if I get a craving in the spring, I have it on hand.  Most everyone like granola, but the store bought kinds are laden with processed sugars and tons of fat from butter.  Here is a yummy recipe I have made healthy.

Image

Healthy Pumpkin Spice Granola

5 cups rolled oats

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp salt

1-2 T brown sugar

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 pureed pumpkin

1 tsp vanilla extract or ground vanilla bean

In a large bowl, mix all the dry ingredients.  In another smaller bowl, whisk the wet ingredients to make a dressing.

Image

Now add wet to dry making sure to mix well.

Image

Preheat oven to 330 degrees.  Spread mixture onto two lined or greased baking pans.  (I find parchment works the best with granola recipes.  I just reuse the same sheets until I can no longer do so.)

Image

Bake in the oven for about 22 minutes.  Pull out shake the granola around a bit and put back in for another 17 minutes or until granola comes out crispy.  Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container.  It can probably stay fresh for about 2 weeks.  Mine never lasts that long though. 🙂

Image

I top mine with fresh fruit. My whole family enjoys this granola.  Even my picky 3 year old.  I hope you do too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

