Can you believe this pie is healthy? It totally is!

Last night I had the urge to make crock pot applesauce.  Thinking about it reminds me of the applesauce my great grandmother used to make when I was little.  So I gathered all the ingredients and threw them in.  When I tasted the final product, I immediately thought to make a pie.  Here is Dallas today, its cold and overcast.  Just perfect for staying in and enjoying some comfort food.

Healthy Vegan Apple Pie

For the filling:

About 8 apples. (I used granny smiths because I like the tart flavors)

1 heaping tsp of cinnamon

1/4 tsp of ginger

1/4 tsp of clove

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup water

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker.  Cook of high and it should be done in 3-4 hrs

For the pie crust:

1 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour (Spelt would work well too)

1 banana

1 tbsp sweetener( I used maple syrup)

A few tbsp milk (I used soy.  Almond milk would work well too.)

Combine the first three ingredients in a food processor.  It will be pretty dry.  Then start to add the milk until the mixture forms into a dough.  Roll out the dough and place it in a greased pie pan.

Add the apple mixture to the pie.

For the topping:

3/4 cup rolled oats

1 tbsp butter

1-2 tbsp milk

Combine oats and butter in a food processor.  Slowly add milk just so the mixture comes together.  Sprinkle on top of the pie.

Bake in the oven at 350 for about 25-30 minutes.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

